The Committee

The Committee is elected annually at the AGM, and normally meets monthly (apart from December); please see the Calendar for details. The current Committee is Chair Alex Hollingsworth, Vice Chair and Secretary Manda Joyce, Treasurer Jamie Forbes, and Committee members: Emma Delap, Sarah Edwards,  Keith Holton, Jeremy Hyde,  Ilias Kounatidis, Christine Melia, Julia Popescu, Alice Sprinkle and Phyllis Starkey. More details can be found below. 

John Davis and Maria Ward were co-opted to the Committee in November 2021, to stand for election at the 2022 AGM.

Alex and Jamie are CMAA’s Trustees.

Alex Hollingsworth was elected as Chair at the 2021 AGM. Alex previously served on the Committee as Vice-Chair and audit lead, as well as doing countless working parties for many years. In addition to chairing the Association, Alex takes the lead on site management such as trees and mowing. He is on plots 80B, 81 and 82.
Vice Chair and Secretary Manda Joyce became Vice Chair in 2019, having been elected to the committee in 2017 after becoming a member in 2016 on Plot 72. She is currently reclaiming plot 79. She takes the lead on new member applications and plot offers, and general membership communications including the website and newsletter. She wrote our Good Waste Guide and developed our data protection policy.
Jamie Forbes, who became a member in 2006 on Plot 63 and a committee member in 2007, is our Treasurer. He also does working parties, builds and maintains our notice boards and organises machinery repair and petrol. He is the central figure in all Cripley Meadow social events, supplying and managing the food, drink and barbecue.
Emma Delap was elected as a committee member in 2015. She became a plot holder on Plot 1A in 2013. Emma has managed the audit, as well as organising committee keys, and managing member permissions for sheds, structures and trees.
Sarah Edwards became a member in 2012 on Plot 120 and was elected to the committee in 2014. Sarah manages our trading shop and is responsible for the buying and delivery of products.
Keith Holton joined the committee in 2015 having been a plotholder since 1980 on plots 131/132. He has seen many changes on Cripley Meadow and his inclusion means the committee spans 5 decades. He helps with deliveries and organises our skip changovers. Keith also (in normal times) hosts our committee meetings
Jeremy Hyde became, a committee member in 2010 and a member in 2006 on Plot 91. He manages the Association Shed area and is responsible for our health and safety information. Jeremy contracts for the Association around one day a month doing site work, such as installing communal water butts and repairing the bridges to Cripley Island
Ilias Kounatidis became a plot holder in 2013. He is on plots 2 & 3, sharing the jobs with two excellent helpers, Christina and Elisavet. He was co-opted to the Committee in 2020 as Orchard Lead, following his family tradition of growing olive trees back in Greece.
Christine Melia became a member on 5A in 2015 having applied for a plot as an interested beekeeper. We no longer had an active hive on site and she quickly established the bees (now on 10B), donating delicious Cripley Meadow honey to our stall at the Jericho Fair. She was elected as a committee member at the 2019 AGM. She does project and audit work and is our representative on the ODFAA, Oxford’s umbrella group for allotment associations.
Julia Popescu became a member on 86A in 2017 and rapidly transformed its cultivation. She took on a larger plot, 127, for 2020. Julia was our Castle Mill representative (from October 2019) but has since moved. She helps with project work, deliveries and recently stated hosting our video-conferenced committee meetings. She managed the logistics for our video-conferenced 2021 AGM.
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is alice-and-sign-cropped-resized.jpgAlice Sprinkle was elected to the Committee as Castle Mill representative at the 2021 AGM. She joined the Association on plot 126E in mid-2020.
Phyllis Starkey took plot SF7 early in 2018 when it was partly covered. Our records show that Phyllis had plot 10 on Cripley Meadow in the early 1980s. Her present plot is now well stocked and she has replaced the plastic cover with green manure. She was elected as a committee member at the 2019 AGM. Phyllis recently took over as our Membership Secretary, so handles our joiners and leavers, and keeps our membership records up-to-date.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is wss-portrait-crop-1.jpg Wendy is on plot 40 and is co-opted to help with shredding.Rodney is on Plot 41 and is co-opted to help with orchards, projects and shredding.
Richard is on Plot 15/16 and is co-opted for site spraying. Anna is co-opted to help with pruning the espaliers. 
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close